Southgate names 26-man England squad for Qatar World Cup

Server VIDEO 

play video

LONDON: Leicester midfielder James Maddison has been rewarded with a call-up to England team as manager Gareth Southgate on Thursday named a 26-member squad for FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022.

England’s manager has picked a blend of youth and experience into the squad with 13 players set for their first FIFA World Cup while another three heading to their first major senior tournament.

Liverpool midfielder Jordan Henderson and Chelsea’s Raheem Sterling will be joining the illustrious list of England players to have featured in three World Cups.

Marcus Rashford of Manchester United, Callum Wilson of Newcastle, Kyle Walker of Manchester City, and Ben White of Arsenal have also been selected by Southgate.

Manchester City’s Kalvin Phillips has been included despite injury concerns while Harry Maguire, who was dropped by Manchester United this season, also managed to receive the national call.

England will face Iran in their opening game at Qatar on November 21 before facing the USA and Wales in Group B.

Complete Squad: 

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Everton, loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United),

Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), James Maddison (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United)

READ: Virat Kohli becomes first batter to amass 4000-run landmark in T20Is

The post Southgate names 26-man England squad for Qatar World Cup appeared first on


Server Video 

play video

Comentarii :

Trimiteți un comentariu